top of page

The Process and Loving What You Do

One could say that art requires patience. After all, there is a bit of sitting or standing to actually paint or draw... and then the studying, leaving the piece and coming back to it, etc. etc.

I've recently begun stretching a bit and taking on more complicated pieces that have tested that patience. Albeit, I only sit for short bursts while running after a little one or waiting for her to nap. But I still have found twice in the past few weeks that adding just a few extra characters or background seriously complicates a piece and the added detail can be a bit grueling for someone used to single characters, portraits, or quick ink drawings. Sigh.

But again I stick with it regardless, because I started it and by Jeeves, I'm going to finish it. That is not always the case - you have to know when to quit - but I've found for the most part finishing a project has its own reward, even if you are not really pleased with the outcome.

So lately, I revisited an illustration for a poem "I like the Fall, the mist and all..." and gave it color this time. And a frickin' complicated owl. I picked a scops owl and the scops owl has a thousand tiny little speckles all over its adorable, miniature body. So sweet to look at, a monstrous pain to paint. I worked on him all week and am, even now, uncertain that he is done.

I thought I'd share the process as well as debate the notion that "if you love what you do, you'll never work a day in your life". I call shenanigans. It is true that doing what you love is far pleasanter than doing what you hate. But you will always work, especially at things you love. And you will hate it sometimes and doubt yourself and want to quit. Don't let Hollywood fool you, with careers as with relationships, this will always be the case. Of course, there are always some things you prefer over another such as commissioned projects over my own. But that usually comes down to inspiration and that is not always forthcoming and sometimes you have to plow through with whatever idea comes into your head just for practice. Whether practice becomes a cohesive project in the end is another matter. Anyway, just thought I'd throw that out there...Sometimes I feel like I stumble onto a different blog post in the midst of the one I'm writing :)

So to recap, the process is often long, you can love it and still want to quit, but in the end, you gain in skill and technique. Here is the process for "The Mist and All"...

Notice that I added detail, painted over detail and then added it again, as well as signing the piece before it was actually done. That's my process, people.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Instagram Classic
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page