top of page

Snow and More Snow! And an Art Show Opening

"The street cars are

Like frosted cakes -

All covered up

With cold snowflakes."

Dorothy Aldis

We don't have street cars here, but I never thought of snow covered things looking like frosted cakes...Good imagery.

January-February has been cold, blustery, snowing, warm, thawed, then cold, blustery and covered up again. As I write I am looking out my window at a frozen landscape, the snow globe effect in full force. It has barely stopped snowing since yesterday and isn't due to stop today or maybe tomorrow either. Brrrr.

I am quite cozy, however, sitting here observing, rather than having to be out in it, which I consider to be a blessing. There are some who are, like my husband...because when you are self-employed and make your money with contracts, there are no snow days. Luckily, I can create art and blog from home :)

Can you see the snow coming in sideways here?

In between the blizzards the weather behaved and my February art show reception went off with no delays. The opening was on the 3rd at Hale Springs Inn, in Rogersville, Tennessee. It is a very old place and has that kind of character to it. I love to display at the older places best. They have the coolest architecture and an heir of mystery. You can feel the stories, whether or not you've heard any.

There was food, provided by the inn, which I greatly appreciate. We had a few guests wander through and I got to talk to some new folks, including a reporter for the local newspaper - who also happened to teach art.

You can see my black bear on the wall there.

The small dining room where it was held doesn't look like it would fit much at first glance. Looks are very deceiving. I fit about 17 works in there on the wall grid. I could probably have fit more, but that was all I had brought with me when I set up.

I really only planned on displaying animals, but brought more to fill in just in case and I am glad I did.

Subjects cover animals, fairy tales and some landscapes. The most recent is the Red Fox in Autumn pictured here. Not a good picture, sorry :(

If you have a chance, stop by and see it! Everything there is for sale and the inn is accepting payment for me. My work will there all month!

Have a look around while you are there and check out the restaurant. The inn is located at 110 West Main Street, Rogersville, Tennessee. The inn's website can be found here: http://halespringsinn.com/ if you would like a preview!

Thank you to Therese Hodge and the Hale Springs Inn for hosting me!

Also, I am updating my website to include more original art for sale. I will be adding more a bit at a time, so if you are interested in something that isn't listed for sale yet, contact me and I will let you know if it is available and proceed from there. Otherwise my Etsy shop is still open for the time being and some of my originals can be found there. Prints and other merchandise, as always, are located on Redbubble. These shops are accessible on my website by clicking the appropriate tab or the links below:

dottipriceart.etsy.com

http://www.redbubble.com/people/dottipriceart

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Instagram Classic
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page