top of page

An Awfully Big Adventure

"It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to."

JRR Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

This quote is timely, naturally. This past month has brought new challenges and adventures. For starters, the Mason House Gallery showing was a success. I sold several paintings and commissioned one, as I had more than one buyer interested in the foxes. I also had much support and encouragement from those who attended my opening and others who came throughout the month to see my work. This was my first show at the Mason House Gallery and my first solo exhibition, so I didn't know what to expect, but I have to say I am happy with the results. I hope to show there again in the future.

Secondly, I was able to design set pieces and props for two musicals performed by kids at NPAC. I painted a giant 12 foot castle on styrofoam, made a birdcage from pipecleaners, elf and mouse ears from paper, mousey tails from strips of cloth, and loads of painting of existing set pieces, reworking of costumes and other props, makeup...you name it. It. Was. Awesome. I have worked on sets in the past, as well as makeup, and I had forgotten how much I loved being behind the scenes in theatre. I hope to do much more in the future, so if anyone needs a Set Designer...(hint, hint...)

Finished castle with Elias, Emily, Jerry (the hand) and Natalie (the castle cutter-outer).

Thirdly, I got to be an art instructor for the first time as well. I have taught children in church, but never have had a group so big as that first week of Camp NPAC Kids. For those who don't know, Niswonger Performing Arts Center has two weeks of theatre camp each summer, the first week being for older kids (3rd-12th) and the second for the little ones (k-2nd). They basically audition, get cast, memorize music and script, rehearse, and help make props for the show all in one week, which is completely amazing to me.

Again, I didn't know what to expect having never done this before, and honestly, at first, it was overwhelming. Forty-five kids that first week! But again, happy with the results. I really enjoyed working with the kids, especially one on one and especially getting them into their costumes and makeup. The kids did such a great job for so little preparation time. I was impressed and I hope to do more camps in the future...I feel like I'm being redundant this post, but really, all of these new things I would love to do again. Solo shows, theatre camps, set design...Oh my!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Instagram Classic
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page