top of page

Newest News and a Commission!

"I like misty autumn mornings,

and cold, snowy winter nights.

Rainstorms bring me inner peace,

thunder sets my soul alight.

I care not for summer,

days too long, the heavy heat.

Give me candlelight evenings,

early darkness, a silent street."

-N.C.

I found this poem on Facebook the other day. It suits me. Although I find beauty in all the seasons, Autumn is my favorite. It makes its own light from the bright leaves and sky. And its quieter. It feels like a much needed rest after a long summer. And right now we need it with the temperatures still quite warm for this time of year.

I haven't fallen off the planet, as you can see, I simply have been cramped for time and rather exhausted at that. Four months ago tomorrow, we welcomed our baby girl into the world and it has been an adjustment, to say the least! But I'm back to update my blog with some happenings from the past few months that are art related.

In September I participated in a group art show at the McKinney Center in Jonesborough called "Journeys of Women". Basically, it featured some amazing local women artists and ran for a couple weeks. It benefited the Women's Fund and a portion of sales went to help low income women and girls in the area. Two of my paintings, Reach and Red Fox in Autumn were displayed there. I hope to have shows there again in the future!

Also, just a few short weeks after the baby arrived, I was commissioned by Lackington's Magazine to do an illustration for their Fall issue. The theme is animals and it just so happens I do animals :) My artwork is featured in the last story of the magazine called The Hedgehog and the Pine Cone. The style of this literary magazine is speculative fiction, so if that's your thing, are you in luck... The magazine is published quarterly and features several stories on a specific theme.

As a side note: Lackington's was named for a British man who wanted to make books affordable for all back in the 18th century. So, they don't make a profit but they do pay their contributors and offer an affordable literary magazine, which is pretty neat. You can donate to their cause here: https://lackingtons.com/donate/

Without further ado, here is a sneak peek at my illustration...

The Hedgehog and the Pine Cone story by Gwynne Garfinkle artwork by Dotti Price

Intriguing, no? Doesn't that colorful illustration make you want to download the story Immediately? If only to find out what the deal is with that hedgehog and pine cone? Oui, but of course, you say? You can find a copy of the Fall 2016 issue here: https://lackingtons.com/issues/issue-12-fall-2016/

This is my first magazine commission and I am Excited about it. Here's to many more!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Instagram Classic
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page